Prep Talk

Nine Students Participate in The University of Pennsylvania’s Annual Model Congress

Posted April 10th, 2017

Nine students participated at the annual University of Pennsylvania Model Congress from March 30th to April 2nd. Each student spent several months writing and prepping mock congressional bills which they used to debate and seek approval from students across the Northeastern United States.

“I loved the opportunity to thoughtfully discuss critical issues for our future some of the most qualified and intelligent students I’ve met” said Vito Acosta (’19). “Additionally, the trip gave me a feel for the university lifestyle and an urban collegiate environment” he added.

“It was a great experience being able to present and interact with students from different areas of the country” stated Devon Osgood (’18). “A few of the bills brought up controversial topics. Which sparked some very interesting debates” he added.

The event featured over 700 students who were split into house and senate committees. Within each committee members hand the opportunity to argue for their own bill that they had drafted. Formal congressional debates took place including pro-cons discussions, amendments and general review.

Three Prep students garnered recognition as Vito Acosta and Justin Crawford (’20) earned Honorable Mention in Committee. Scott Guetens (’17) was recognized as Honorable Mention in Full Session, one of only three individuals to receive the honor.

Participation in the University of Pennsylvania’s Model Congress is a prestigious addition to any student’s college application. The weekend provides each individual an active glimpse of the congressional process through which bills become laws in our nation’s capitol. Prep students have been attending the event since 2008.

In addition, the students got to take in the scenery and history of the local Philadelphia area while finding a new favorite snack via Insomnia Cookies.

List of Participants

  1. Vito Acosta (’19)
  2. George Coleman (’18)
  3. Justin Crawford (’20)
  4. Robert Cuff (’20)
  5. Scott Guetens (’17)
  6. Gerardo Gramaglia (’20)
  7. Dillon Joseph (’19)
  8. Devin Osgood (’18)
  9. John Reynolds (’18)